OEAS recognises 10 new UMMOA claims

Aphrodite IslandSaturday, 5 May 2012, the Organization of Emerging African States (OEAS) has finally recognised an additional 10 allodial title UMMOA claims beyond the Banc du Geyser claim — the latter claim was itself recognised on 14 September 2011. This decision, in turn, has brought the total number of recognised African Ummoagian insular claims to 11.

The OEAS also recognised the UMMOA's land tenure claim to another 2 islands or archipelagos — Mayotte and the Chagos Archipelago — so the UMMOA can fulfill its mission there as Protector to the Afri- can islands.

It should be noted that with the OEAS decision, 5 new islands or archipelagos have become a part of the African continent: Aphrodite Island, a new island claimed solely by the UMMOA and located in the Red Sea, as well as the islands or archipelagos of Amsterdam Island, Saint Paul Island, the Crozet Islands, and the Kerguelen Islands, formerly considered part of Antarctica, even though they are not covered under the Antarctic Treaty.

The UMMOA now claims a total of 29 islands, new islands, disappearing islands, and quasi-islands in the Pacific Ocean, Caribbean Sea, Mediterranean Sea, Red Sea and Indian Ocean, with a total area of about 7,695 sq. km. (2,971 sq. mi.).

Terra FabianaIn addition to that, the UMMOA also claims Fabian Gottlieb Land (formerly Adélie Land), also known now as Terra Firma or Terra Fabiana, a sector of the Antarctic continent with an area of 432,000 sq. km. (166,796 sq. mi.), or about the size of Iraq. Fabian Gottlieb Land is Antarctic territory that is claimed by France as one of 5 districts of the French Southern and Antarctic Lands. How- ever, not all nations have given this claim diplomatic recognition. France's sovereignty is not recognised internationally over this claim. For example, the US does not recognize the French claim to Adélie Land. So outside of the Antarctic Treaty System (ATS) rationale, Adélie Land is actually just another disputed claim. It should also be noted that ATS claims do not signify de jure recognition. These are all de facto claims, so the Antarctic Treaty does not enjoy the status of customary international law. In the Consensus AMOMUS N. 1, the UMMOA's first important legal opinion, the UMMOA has stated "The UMMOA does not accept Antarctic Treaty claims, and would be free to do so even if the Antarctic Treaty were a rule of customary international law, which it is not."

Of the UMMOA's 29 island claims, 22 claims, or 76 percent of the claims, have been recognised by either the International States Parliament for Safety and Peace (ISPSP), or the Organization of Emerging African States (OEAS).